About Us

Our Mission: To promote and protect Delaware Agriculture through education and advocacy to ensure a quality of life for farmers and their consumers.

Since it was established in 1944, the Delaware Farm Bureau has become one of the strongest farm organizations in the First State. DFB is a non-profit and nongovernmental organization that serves as a unified voice for farmers in the State of Delaware.

Controlled by its members through the democratic process and financed through membership dues, this group of over 8,400 farm families and associate members help form a national organization that is over six million strong. These families are united for the purpose of preserving agriculture as an industry and way of life; Farm Bureau is their vehicle to accomplish this.

Delaware Farm Bureau is politically active, but nonpartisan. On both the local and national front, Farm Bureau has defended agriculture against unreasonable taxes and regulations, threats to property rights and damaging misconceptions about farming. Delaware Farm Bureau consists of its three counties:  

Who we support

  • American Farm Bureau Federation
  • Delaware FFA Association
  • Delaware 4-H
  • Delaware State Fair
  • Delaware State Fair Junior Livestock Auction
  • Delaware Ag Week
  • Delaware ENVIROTHON
  • Delaware Agricultural Industry Dinner
  • University of Delaware Ag Day
  • Delmarva Poultry Industry

DEFB Board of Directors

1st Vice President Laura Hill                President Richard Wilkins2nd Vice President Bill Powers
  • Stewart Ramsey, Jr. New Castle County Farm Bureau President Wilmington, DE
  • Jacob UrianKent County Farm Bureau President 
  • Dale Phillips Sussex County Farm Bureau President Bridgeville, DE
  • Mary Bea Gooden State Women’s Committee Chair Viola, DE
  • June Unruh NCCOFB  Women’s Committee Chair Townsend, DE
  • Sandy Virdin KCFB Women’s Committee Chair Hartly, DE
  • Connie Fox SCFB Women’s Committee Chair Milford, DE
  • Jacob Urian State YF&R Chair Clayton, DE
  • Travis Voshell NCCOFB YF&R Chair Smyrna, DE
  • Jonathan Moore KCFB YF&R Chair Wyoming, DE
  • Steve Breeding SCFB YF&R Chair  Seaford, DE
  • Paul Cartanza Dover, DE
  • Thomas Collier Harrington, DE
  • Doug Corey Bridgeville, DE
  • Mark Davis Georgetown, DE
  • John Filasky Middletown, DE
  • David Marvel Harrington, DE
  • Will Powers III Townsend, DE
  • Fred Stites Townsend, DE
  • Herb Wright Delmar, DE

DEFB Office Staff

Joseph Poppiti

Executive Director

Jan Cartanza

Member Services Coordinator

Laura Simpson

Foundation Manager

Heather Kline

Marketing and Administrative Assistant

Carol Kinsley

Public Relations Coordinator