Site Loader
3457 S. Dupont Hwy. Camden, DE 19934

When Lucy Chorman put on her very own FFA jacket for the first time almost five years ago, she said she felt excited for the opportunities to come.

“For myself and thousands of other FFA members across the country, the blue jacket gives us an opportunity to be a part of an organization that is fighting for agriculture, moving ahead and having a hand in developing the next generation of leaders,” she said.

Chorman, like many other students in the First State, were able to receive their blue corduroy jacket thanks to the Delaware Farm Bureau’s Blue Jacket Bonanza (DEFB). This year, the organization provided 99 students with their own iconic jacket.

DEFB President Bill Powers and First Vice President Steve Breeding attended the Delaware FFA’s 94th State Convention Tuesday, March 5, at Delaware State University to personally present the jackets to those students.

“It’s a privilege to be able to do this for. . . quite a few years. Steve Breeding and I were both state FFA presidents. That was 48 years ago in this room and Steve was a state officer in 2000,” Powers said, tying experiences from both organizations together.

On stage, Powers donned his own blue jacket for the FFA students in attendance who erupted in applause at the sight.

“It felt good putting that on to show the students. I have a lot of great memories from my time in the FFA and my kids were in the FFA, too. My jacket sat in a time capsule for years. It felt special taking it out of there just like it felt special putting it on in front of the FFA members,” he said.

Students who received their first FFA jacket through the Blue Jacket Bonanza came from across the state with a variety of experiences already under their belts and more to come, Chorman suggested.

“One of my favorite parts of the National FFA organization is that it doesn’t wait for leadership to find you. Instead, it recognizes that a true leader is not defined by age, rather by compassion. To the applicants before me, let this be a reminder that you can be a leader right where you are today,” she told the conference crowd of more than 550 attendees. “Whether you’re wearing it for the very first time, or a seasoned advocate, FFA has a place for you.”

For more information about the Delaware Farm Bureau or to find out how to get involved, visit

Students honored with their own FFA blue jackets include:

Caesar Rodney High School

Dylan Harris

Olivia Rudis

Colleen Duong

Lily Cottle

Abigail Morgan

Addison Reel

Carter Benini

Lily Moffet

Dover High School

Marialuisa Quinonez

Chloe Long

Haley Hartnett

Samantha McCoy

Danielle Jones

Grace Davis

Justin Didden

Smyrna High School

Samuel Dulin IV

Riley Hufford

Rachael Carney

Oliver Ahrem

Mason Jewell

Kayla Walker

Jason Briney

Cheyenne Abel

Caleigh Sweetman

Abigail Campagnini

Ezra Brumbaugh

Seaford High School

Evan Metzner

Colin Hignutt

Kohen Massey

Paige Zoll

Brianna Brady

Tyler Tribbitt

Christiana High School

Nadine Igbokidi

Milford High School

Savannah Littleton

Malleri Preuss

Abi Richards

Bryce Patricella

Lily Fry

Olivia Tribbett

Laura Fulton

Maggie Moore

Donald Calhoun

Nevaeh Passwaters

Sussex Central High School

Joseph Moore V

Joshua McCabe

Adelita Hernandez-Barrios

Maria Gutierrez-Carcamo

Madigan Stegura

Julian Burns

Gabriel Bullard

Chloe Burroughs-Gravatt

Ava Johnson

Thomas McKean High School

Grace Starrett

Olivia Barnes

Alex Duncan

Chase Armiger

Middletown High School

Abigail Marshall

Madison Reeder

Melissa Yeboah

Alyssa Winner

Rieley Un

Keva Dhapare

Alex Appiah

Lake Forest High School

Mackenzie Johnson

Alexis Rowland

Kaylyn Jones

Alexiana Hay

Odyssey Charter School

Autumn Piazza

Appoquinimink High School

Alyson Hackett

Annabelle Strong

Irelynn Becker

Hannah Rohe

Jayla Burton

Gabriel Doering

Kylie Knapp

Anna Kuzminski

Sophia Velon

Carleigh Neville

Benjamin Carter

Riley Cheeseman

Isabella Linsmeier

Carina Frago

Woodbridge High School

Cooper Kerrick

Brooke Taylor

Dailyn Ramos Cortes

Hannah Jefferson

Garrett Kellam

Odessa High School

Rory Whitehouse

Macy Troutman

Alexandra Stanbery-Turner

Dean Troutman

Savannah Timney

Brenna Mahoney

William Penn High School

Diamond Barnard

Edwardo Carmine

Jesus Lopez-Baeza

Kimani Wright

Rowan Fernsler


Post Author: Mikayla Paul

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *